

The Jack Philipps Gold Medal Award

The Jack Philipps Gold Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the American Advertising Federation (AAF) District 4, which comprises the AAF clubs of Florida and the Caribbean. It is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to advertising and furthering the industry's standards, creative excellence and public service.

This award was created to honor the memory of Jack Philipps, who passed away while serving as the District 4 treasurer. His work in the advertising profession was the epitome of professionalism and service. The objective of the award is to recognize men and women of AAF District 4 who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry's standards, creative excellence and responsibility in the areas of social concern.

The Jack Philipps Gold Medal Award is given during AAF District 4's Annual Meeting. It is the responsibility of the Gold Medal jury, composed of past recipients, to review the nominations and select a recipient. The recipient automatically becomes the next year's chairperson, and other recipients serve on the judging committee. The committee may award the honor or decide not to if nominations do not meet the standards they set. The award presented is a plaque that bears the Gold Medal medallion, as well as a lapel pin medallion.

The first Jack Philipps award was presented in 1984. The recipients include many former District 4 governors and committee chairs. Past recipients are listed at right.

Past Recipients

1984	Mary Shine	Jacksonville
1985	Fellis Carnley	Tallahassee
1986	Jeanne Moorehead	Tampa
1987	Jack Weldon, Jr.	St. Petersburg
1988	Gary Kerns	Orlando
1989	Bill King	Orlando
1990	Cal Longacre	Ft. Lauderdale
1991	Rose Rice	Miami Beach
1992	Osvaldo Laino	Tampa
1993	Charles Stiles	Ft. Myers
1994	William R. Hohmann	Ft. Pierce
1995	Mike Mucci	Stuart
1996	Bill Gregory	Winter Haven
1997	William E. Drier	Miami
1999	Art Rowbotham	Lakeland
2000	Mike Weber	St. Petersburg
2001	Jack Hebert	St. Petersburg
2002	Brenda Edwards	Ocala
2004	Jamie Titcomb	West Palm Beach
2007	Jerry Hunnicutt	Fort Myers
2008	Tom Hayes	Treasure Coast
2011	Anne Grigsby	Ft. Lauderdale
2012	Victor Crist	Tampa Bay
2013	Terri Brown	St. Thomas
2015	Jackie Barker	Space Coast
2016	Jim Clark	Emerald Coast
2017	Marla Lucas	Jacksonville
2018	JJ Foote	Caribbean
2019	Michael Andersen	Tampa
2022	Yeosh Bendayan	Orlando
2023	Mara Clark	Emerald Coast
2024	Jon Ruhff	Orlando

Nominating criteria can be found on the next page.



Nominating criteria:

Any member in good standing of AAF District 4 may submit a nomination(s). Nominations must be in writing and must be received within the time frame announced for nominations by the Jack Phillips chairperson. For proper consideration of the nominee, all appropriate details should be provided.

Nominations must detail the following:

Contributions to Company — The nominee must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media, advertising service company or related firm.

Creative — The nominee must have demonstrated a consistently high degree of creative, original thinking in whichever area of advertising the individual has worked.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising — The nominee should have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to Community — The nominee should be active in civic, religious or other groups dedicated to some phase of human or social welfare.

Submit nominations by April 1, 2025, to jon@pushbuttonproductions.com.